and finally that moment of understanding.

Standard

After running around like an idiot for a couple hours wondering why I kept fixing, then breaking my mapleader in Vim, I finally figured out it was because I was trying to switch the semicolon and colon so they reversed function. Which actually was not breaking my mapleader so much as rendering the commands it tried to print useless, as commands written like “:nohlsearch” were actually printing as “;nohlsearch” and of course Vim had no idea what to make of that.

So instead I’ve now mapped <leader>; to the semicolon for the repeating character find, and it seems to be working alright now, and I’ve got Command-T working also. Though I’ve half a mind to attempt to recompile terminal Vim with Ruby, because it’s kind of irritating to have to use MacVim for that sole purpose.

In other news, I’ve signed up with Slicehost for a VPS, because Dreamhost, while it has served me well as a plain host, is kind of obnoxious to try to customize. Not that I’ve done a whole lot of customization on my VPS yet, but I did install Ruby and Rails and started messing around with that. I’ll probably get back into playing around with it once I get comfortable editing in Vim locally– I’m also setting up Vim at work to edit CSS with (to start– though I may never get further than that and/or Javascript anyway, given everything’s kind of set up through .NET and IIS at work and I have a feeling it might end up just counterproductive to try to move off Visual Studio there) so I can try to get more practice in.

Speaking of Vim, this is a pretty good set of intro videos by Derek Wyatt.

Anyway, I set up Ruby on my server mostly because it was one of the first tutorials I ran into for setting up an environment on Slicehost, but now that I’m not planning on taking an evaluation/courses that require Python, I’m thinking shelving Python for the moment and moving forward with Ruby might be a good idea. Partly it’s just easy because it’s there, but things like discovering Sass and Compass and knowing they’re already using Ruby so integration will be smooth, and also just knowing that Ruby is rather “in demand” for the kind of projects I apparently like working on makes it seem like a good choice for now?

May still kind of do a back and forth before deciding what I really want to focus on, but for now I’m shifting back to Ruby. Again. Because I’m that indecisive.

It’s a good thing nobody’s reading this, because it is super boring.

Leave a Reply

